Amazon Prime’s epic project, The Wheel of Time series announced three more cast members today. The show’s Twitter account has been dropping cast names each Wednesday for the last three weeks giving fans just enough to carry them through while production remains at a halt due to COVID-19.

Today we learned that Pasha Bocarie (Emmerdale) will play Master Grinwell, Jennifer Preston (12 Monkeys) will play Mistress Grinwell and Izuka Hoyle (Mary Queen of Scots) will play Dana.

The Grinwells are farmers that two of our protagonists meet on the way to Caemlyn. Dana isn’t a name form The Wheel of Time book series. The Grinwells do have a daughter that plays a part in the series but her name is Else. There is a Dena in the book series but she doesn’t appear in Book One: The Eye of the World, she first appears in Book Two: The Great Hunt

RELATED: The Wheel of Time Series Releases Footage From the First Table Read

RELATED: The Wheel of Time Showrunner Posts First Image of Rand al’Thor on Set

Now here’s a big idea. One major supporting character that hasn’t been announced yet is Dain Bornhald, a member of the antagonistic Children of the Light. He enters the book around the same time as the Grinwells. Perhaps Dain is now Dana? Or, maybe the simplest answer is the correct one: Dana is a new character created for the streaming series. 


In addition to Bocarie, Preston and Hoyle, The Wheel of Time ensemble includes Josha Stradowski, as Rand al’Thor, Barney Harris (Mat Cauthon), Madeleine Madden (Egwene Al’Vere), Zoe Robin (Nyneave) Marcus Rutherford (Perrin Aybarra), Rosamund Pike (Moirane), Josha Stradowski (Rand),  Daniel Henney (Lan),  Michael McElhatton (Tam Al’Thor), Alexandre Willaume  (Thom Merrilan), Hammed Animashaun (Loial), Johann Myers (Padan Fain), Alvaro Morte (Logain), Priyanka Bose (Alanna Mosvani)Taylor Napier (Maksim), Emmanuel Imani (Ihvon), Kate Fleetwood (Liandrin Guirale), Clare Perkins (Kerene Nagashi), Lolita Chakrabarti (Marin Al’Vere), Michael Tuahine (Bran Al’Vere), David Sterne (Cenn Buie), Christopher Sciueref (Abell Cauthon), Juliet Howland (Natti Cauthon), Mandi Symonds (Daise Conger), Abdul Salis (Eamon Valda) and Stuart Graham (Geofram Bornhald). We don’t know who Daryl McCormack will be playing or Maria Doyle Kennedy although the latter would make a great Elaida Sedei or the Amyrlin Seat! Other actors playing unknown roles are Jennifer Cheon Garcia, Peter Franzén, and Kate Franz.

The Wheel of Time is based on Robert Jordan’s fantasy series spanning 14 books. The final three books in the series were written by fantasy author Brandon Sanderson after Jordan’s passing. It is set in a sprawling, epic world where magic exists, but only women can use it. Meaning that in this series — women hold the keys to power. The story follows Moiraine, a member of the shadowy and influential all-female organization called the “Aes Sedai” as she embarks on a dangerous, world-spanning journey with five young men and women. Moiraine is interested in these five because she believes one of them might be the reincarnation of an incredibly powerful individual, whom prophecies say will either save humanity or destroy it.

Executive producer/showrunner Rafe Judkins adapted the novels for television Executive producers also include Larry Mondragon and Rick Selvage of Red Eagle Entertainment, Ted Field and Mike Weber of Radar Pictures, Darren LemkeMarigo Kehoe and Uta Briesewitz.  Jordan’s widow Harriet McDougal and Sanderson will serve as consulting producers.