It’s been a long dry spell since we’ve heard anything about The Wheel of Time series. Production was halted on the Amazon Prime show due to the coronavirus. The last bit of casting news came in December when it was announced that Priyanka Bose, Taylor Napier and Emmanuel Imani had joined the cast. Aside from that news, we’ve seen a couple set pictures but that’s it. 

Today, on The Wheel of Time’s twitter account, the series revealed six cast members. All six of the characters hail from Emond’s Field in The Two Rivers. Let’s find out who they are playing!

Lolita Chakrabarti (Riviera, Beowulf: Return to the Shieldlands) is playing Marin Al’Vere and Michael Tuahine (Farscape) is playing Bran Al’Vere. This married couple are the parents of Egwene Al’Vere. Bran is the mayor of Emond’s Field and the Al’Veres run the Winespring Inn. The Inn is famous for its brandy so expect to hear that mentioned in the series. 

David Sterne (Vikings, The Detectorists) is playing Cenn Buie. This character is best described as the town’s grumpy pants and if something is going on in town, his nose is sure to be in it.

Christopher Sciueref (Krypton, The Last Kingdom) is playing Abell Cauthon and Juliet Howland (Astral) is playing Natti Cauthon. This married couple are Mat Cauthon’s parents. 

Mandi Symonds (Casualty) is playing Daise Conger who is the Wisdom of Emond’s Field. A Wisdom is a healer. 

In addition to these six,  The Wheel of Time ensemble includes Josha Stradowski, as Rand al’Thor, Barney Harris (Mat Cauthon), Madeleine Madden (Egwene Al’Vere), Zoe Robin (Nyneave) Marcus Rutherford (Perrin Aybarra), Rosamund Pike (Moirane), Josha Stradowski (Rand),  Daniel Henney (Lan),  Michael McElhatton (Tam Al’Thor), Alexandre Willaume  (Thom Merrilan), Hammed Animashaun (Loial), Johann Myers (Padan Fain), Alvaro Morte (Logain), Priyanka Bose (Alanna Mosvani)Taylor Napier (Maksim) and Emmanuel Imani (Ihvon), Kate Fleetwood (Liandrin Guirale), Clare Perkins (Kerene Nagashi). We don’t know who Daryl McCormack will be playing or Maria Doyle Kennedy although the latter would make a great Elaida Sedei or the Amyrlin Seat! Other actors playing unknown roles are Jennifer Cheon Garcia, Peter Franzén, and Kate Franz.

The Wheel of Time is based on Robert Jordan’s fantasy series spanning 14 books. The final three books in the series were written by fantasy author Brandon Sanderson after Jordan’s passing. It is set in a sprawling, epic world where magic exists, but only women can use it. Meaning that in this series — women hold the keys to power. The story follows Moiraine, a member of the shadowy and influential all-female organization called the ‘Aes Sedai’ as she embarks on a dangerous, world-spanning journey with five young men and women. Moiraine is interested in these five because she believes one of them might be the reincarnation of an incredibly powerful individual, whom prophecies say will either save humanity or destroy it.

Executive producer/showrunner Rafe Judkins adapted the novels for television Executive producers also include Larry Mondragon and Rick Selvage of Red Eagle Entertainment, Ted Field and Mike Weber of Radar Pictures, Darren LemkeMarigo Kehoe and Uta Briesewitz.  Jordan’s widow Harriet McDougal and Sanderson will serve as consulting producers.

We are getting so excited! To check out Geek Girl Authority’s The Wheel of Time news, click here! Also, if this is not enough to hold you over, the WOTonPrime twitter account is doing a book club and it’s a great way to sate your excitement. 


Audrey Kearns