Penny Dreadful: City of Angels adds six more cast members for the upcoming Showtime series. According to Deadline, the list includes Michael Gladis, Lorenza Izzo, Adam Rodriquez, Thomas Kretschmann, Dominic Sherwood, and Ethan Peck

Series regular Gladis will portray Councilman Charlton Townsend, described as the “ambitious head of the L.A. City Council’s Transportation Committee”. Rodriguez, Kretschmann, Sherwood and Peck will appear in recurring roles. Izzo will play recurring character Santa Muerte, the Angel of Holy Death. 

The new story is set in 1938 Los Angeles at a time of social tension. Here is the show’s description courtesy of Showtime:

Rooted in the conflict between characters connected to the deity Santa Muerte and others allied with the Devil, this chapter will explore an exciting mix of the supernatural and the combustible reality of that period, creating new occult myths and moral dilemmas within a genuine historical backdrop. PENNY DREADFUL: CITY OF ANGELS is a bold new vision that will employ all new characters and storylines.

Penny Dreadful: City of Angels also stars Natalie Dormer, Daniel Zovatto, Adriana Barraza, Jessica Garza, Johnathan Nieves, Rory Kinnear, and Nathan Lane. Recurring cast includes Amy Madigan, Brent Spiner, and Lin Shaye.

John Logan is the series’ creator, writer and executive producer. Michael Aguilar executive produces, along with Sam Mendes and Pippa Harris. Logan’s Desert Wolf Productions will produce. James Bagley will serve as co-executive producer. Additionally, Paco Cabezas is set to direct multiple episodes.

Production on Penny Dreadful: City of Angels begins later this year.

RELATED: Nathan Lane Joins PENNY DREADFUL Sequel Series



Follow me