There are a lot of new books coming out every week. With New Release Radar, I’ll help you narrow down the week’s new book releases into the titles you should get excited about. I have eight books to share this week, including plenty of debut novels and a super sweet romance. Read on!

Til Death Do Us Bard by Rose Black

Logan “the Bear” Theaker hung up his axe and quit his adventuring ways when he met his husband, Pie. But when Pie disappears, Logan must reunite with his old crew to find him. However, Pie isn’t just missing — he’s being blackmailed to steal a powerful artifact that controls the undead. With the kingdom’s fate in the balance, Logan must stop a brewing war and save the man he loves.

Originally released exclusively as an ebook, Til Death Do Us Bard is a fun, cozy fantasy in the tradition of Legends and Lattes. Rose Black’s debut is a testament to the power of love and connection.

RELATED: New Release Radar: New Books Coming Out on May 7

A Crane Among Wolves by June Hur

In the oppressive kingdom of Joseon, 17-year-old Iseul risks everything to rescue her sister from the tyrant King Yeonsan’s clutches. Meanwhile, Prince Daehyun, horrified by his half-brother’s atrocities, plots to overthrow him. As their paths converge, Iseul and Daehyun form an unlikely alliance to overthrow a monster and save their kingdom.

June Hur’s fourth novel is another stunning work of historical fiction. A Crane Among Wolves is angsty and full of rage, with a slow-burn romance and even a bit of mystery thrown in.

Road to Ruin by Hana Lee

The cover of Road to Ruin has a woman on a motorcycle wearing a helmet made out of a creature's skull. She's facing a desert wasteland in shades of purple and orange. There's a lightning storm high in the sky.

Jin-Lu risks her life every day as a magebike courier, carrying cargo across the deadly wastelands. When carrying love letters to a princess results in both women fleeing the city, they set out on a dangerous journey toward safety. As a storm of epic proportions looms, Jin faces her toughest challenge yet, torn between loyalty, love and the impending tempest threatening to consume everything.

RELATED: Check Out These 10 New Photos From Doctor Who‘s “Boom”

The best way to describe Road to Ruin is as a high-fantasy version of Mad Max. With a desolate desert landscape, lumbering monsters and terrifying raiders, Hana Lee’s debut will leave readers clamoring for a sequel.

Spitting Gold by Carmella Lowkis

In 1866 Paris, Baroness Sylvie Devereux reluctantly reunites with her disowned sister for one last con. Targeting dysfunctional aristocrats haunted by their past, they pose as mediums to swindle them out of their fortune. The sisters use every trick they know, but real horrors soon begin. As secrets unravel, the sisters find themselves entangled in a web of deception and danger that threatens to consume them both.

Fans of Sarah Waters’ books and other gothic mysteries will appreciate Carmella Lowkis’ new book release. Spitting Gold centers on a con gone haywire, full of family drama and spooky worldbuilding.

RELATED: 7 Times Baby Reindeer Made for Uncomfortable Viewing

Love at First Book by Jenn McKinlay

Emily Allen, a librarian on Martha’s Vineyard, takes the chance of a lifetime when her favorite author, Siobhan Riordan, offers her a job in Ireland. Tasked with helping Siobhan complete her long-awaited final novel, Emily finds herself at odds with Siobhan’s prickly son, Kieran. As Siobhan’s health deteriorates, Emily becomes a mediator between mother and son, grappling with her growing feelings for Kieran while navigating the path to closure for Siobhan’s literary legacy.

Anyone who understands the power stories can have will enjoy Love at First Book. Jenn McKinlay’s newest romance novel is a must-read for any book lover who’s ever dreamed of meeting their favorite author.

When Among Crows by Veronica Roth

The cover of When Among Crows has a man with pale hair standing in profile. He's holding a glowing gold flower in one hand and a sword in the other. He's standing in front of a gray cityscape.

In a world where pain is both a weapon and a curse, Dymitr, a warrior who wields a sword crafted from his own soul, sets out to confront the monsters haunting him and his family. Ala, burdened with a curse, faces a race against time to find a cure before she dies like her mother. Their paths converge when Dymitr offers Ala a deal.

RELATED: Star Trek: Worst First Contacts

If she helps him find the elusive witch Baba Yaga, he’ll give her the cure. But Ala doesn’t know who Dymitr really is, and the clock is ticking. As they confront their own demons and the sinister truths lurking within the Holy Order, they must race against time for a chance at redemption before it slips away.

If you enjoy folklore-based fantasy with deeper commentary like The Wolf and the Woodsman or Naomi Novik’s work, check out When Among Crows. Veronica Roth’s new book release is a powerful story of identity and redemption packed into a perfectly small novella.

The Honey Witch by Sydney J. Shields

Marigold Claude has always embraced her destiny. Preferring spirits to suitors, she doesn’t mind that the life of the Honey Witch is one of isolation. When the skeptical Lottie Burke arrives, Marigold can’t resist proving that magic is real. Soon, however, Marigold begins caring for Lottie in ways she never expected. When darker magic awakens and threatens to destroy her home, she must fight for everything, risking losing her magic and her heart.

RELATED: Book Review: Otherworldly

The Honey Witch is a sweet, witchy romance full of magic, forbidden love and self-discovery. Sydney J. Shields’ debut is cozy and whimsical — perfect for springtime.

The Garden of Delights by Amal Singh

In the city of Sirvassa, magic blooms from flowers, and the Caretaker tends to the Garden of Delights. In return for his own curse of old age, he bestows temporary magical gifts on the citizens of Sirvassa. Desperate for a cure, he seeks out a mythical god. When a young girl gains the power to alter reality, he believes his search is over. But as a magical rot threatens the Garden, the Caretaker must join forces with her to stop it, discovering that Delights often come before Sorrows in a city on the edge of decay.

Amal Singh’s new book release is a lush fantasy inspired by Indian mythology. The Garden of Delights has a unique plot and dreamlike writing style you won’t want to miss.

You can check out these new book releases at Bookshop.org or your local bookstore. What May 14 new release are you most excited to read? Let us know below, and tune in next week to grow your TBR.

Book Review: WHEN AMONG CROWS