There are a lot of new books coming out every week. With New Release Radar, I’ll help you narrow down the week’s new book releases into the titles you should get excited about. I have 10 books to share this week, including a cozy fantasy graphic novel and an exciting retelling of Frankenstein. Read on.

Pour One for the Devil by Theodore C. Van Alst

When Dr. Van Vierlans accepts an invitation to lecture at Mrs. Elizabeth Van der Horst’s island mansion in South Carolina, he’s enticed by the generous honorarium and the chance to revisit the Sea Islands. But when he arrives, he discovers the mansion trapped in a strange time warp, with no audience except for the Gullah-speaking servants. While he does grow suspicious, Mrs. Van der Horst’s lavish hospitality distracts him from her potentially sinister motives, leading him into a web of intrigue he never anticipated.

Pour One Out for the Devil is a creepy new contemporary Southern gothic novel. Theodore C. Van Alst’s new book release is perfect for anyone looking for a spooky spring read.

RELATED: Book Review: The Bezzle

The Prisoner’s Throne by Holly Black

Imprisoned in the icy north as punishment for his betrayal, Prince Oak is bound to the will of a monstrous new queen. Caught between the loyalty to the girl he loves and the kingdom of Elfhame, Oak’s guile and wit may not be enough to keep everyone he loves alive.

I’ve been a Holly Black fan since I was a kid, and I love that she’s still expanding the world she created. The Prisoner’s Throne promises to be a book that changes the future of Elfhame forever.

The Extinction of Irena Rey by Jennifer Croft

The cover of The Extinction of Irena Rey has green grass and bluish, bare trees. On the ground are large yellow mushrooms.

In a remote house on the edge of a Polish forest, eight translators gather to translate the magnum opus of world-renowned author Irena Rey. However, their task takes an unexpected turn when Irena disappears. As the translators continue their work and investigate Irena’s whereabouts, they delve deep into her secrets — and their own. Isolated in the forest, paranoia and obsession rise, threatening not only the translators’ work but the fate of the author they admire.

Jennifer Croft is an International Booker Prize-winning translator and Women’s Prize finalist. The Extinction of Irena Rey, however, is her debut novel, and it questions artists and their ambitions alongside the wildness of language.

RELATED: GGA’s 10 Most Anticipated Debut Books of 2024

The Baker and the Bard by Fern Haught

Juniper and Hadley, content with their lives in Larkspur, embark on an unexpected adventure when a mysterious order at the bakery leads them on a quest for magical mushrooms. Along the way, they uncover a mystery involving strange creatures threatening the local farmers’ crops and leaving behind glowing goo. With the help of a gentle fey named Thistle, they strive to protect their newfound friends and preserve their home.

The Baker and the Bard is a cozy new graphic novel perfect for fans of The Tea Dragon Society and Mooncakes. Author and artist Fern Haught’s story is truly delightful.

Anita De Monte Laughs Last by Xochitl Gonzalez

In 1985, Anita de Monte’s mysterious death captivated New York City, but by 1998, her name faded into obscurity. As Raquel, a minority art history student, navigates the elitist world of College Hill, her romantic entanglement with a well-connected peer leads her to uncover Anita’s forgotten story. Struggling with her newfound social status, Raquel’s exploration of Anita’s life parallels her own, challenging societal dynamics and eventually raising questions about her own relationships.

RELATED: Book Review: In a Not So Perfect World

In her new book release, Xochitl Gonzalez moves back and forth between perspectives examining power, love and art. Anita De Monte Laughs Last addresses the role of women in art and asks questions about who gets to be remembered in this world.

Chicano Frankenstein by Daniel A. Olivas

The cover of Chicano Frankenstein has a green sugar skull against a darker green background. There are geometric red and orange flowers on the corners.

In a near-future world where reanimation is controversial but possible, an unnamed paralegal navigates a society that both relies on and rejects him. Despite anti-reanimation rhetoric from the president and corporate greed, he finds love with lawyer Faustina Godínez. As he tries to discover the erased history of his first life, he uncovers secrets and grapples with his place in a world that fears and depends on him.

Chicano Frankenstein is a modern retelling of the Mary Shelley classic that blends science fiction and horror with political satire and romance. Daniel A. Olivas weaves a cautionary tale about who is considered human and deserving of rights and who gets to make those decisions.

RELATED: GGA’s 11 Most Anticipated Fantasy Books of 2024

Parasol Against the Axe by Helen Oyeyemi

When Hero Tojosoa reluctantly attends a bachelorette weekend in Prague, she has no idea the city is capable of playing tricks. A book Hero brought with her reveals ever-changing stories of fictional Praguers. Meanwhile, uninvited guests appear around the city, adding their own opinions and even treachery. As tensions arise between Hero and her friends, the conflicting accounts of their history intensify, creating a web of intrigue and mystery they may not escape from.

Helen Oyeyemi’s newest novel is an absurdist, stream-of-consciousness tale all from the perspective of Prague itself. Parasol Against the Axe isn’t a straightforward read, but it asks big questions about the lines between fact and interpretation.

Swift and Saddled by Lyla Sage

Ada Hart, an independent interior designer, unexpectedly finds herself attracted to Weston Ryder, a charming cowboy who turns out to be her new boss on a major project. Despite Ada’s initial reluctance, sparks fly between them as they balance professional collaboration with their budding romance. Can they overcome their differences and pursue love without giving up on their dreams?

RELATED: Saturday Morning Webtoons: Here There Be Dragons and Escape From Oz 

Swift and Saddled is the second of three romance novels set at Rebel Blue Ranch. Lyla Sage’s new book release is another steamy cowboy story that will definitely appeal to her fans.

Free Period by Ali Terese

The cover of Free Period shows purple bathroom stall doors. Below the doors are two pairs of sneakers and a bucket covered in blue paint. Blue footprints lead inside.

After one too many pranks and a stunt gone wrong, Helen and Gracie are forced to join the Community Action Club. They plan on skating by, but when Helen bleeds through her pants in an embarrassing period incident, they take charge of the club’s campaign for menstrual hygiene products in school bathrooms. Despite clueless school board members and personal drama, they use creative tactics to advocate for period equity. As they navigate newfound responsibilities and challenges, Helen and Gracie must weigh the cost of their activism on their friendship.

Ali Terese’s debut novel had me laughing, smiling and groaning at the relatability. By striking a balance between entertaining and educational, Free Period will encourage everyone to want to make a difference in their world.

RELATED: 6 Best Books About Immigration

The Truth of the Aleke by Moses Ose Utomi

In the City of Truth, the last free city of the Forever Desert, 17-year-old Osi, a Junior Peacekeeper, rises to defend his home after the Cult of Tutu’s leader, the Aleke, commits a massacre and steals the sacred God’s Eyes. Tasked with a daunting mission, Osi must destroy the cult, retrieve the stolen artifact, and uncover the truth behind the enigmatic Aleke’s actions.

The Truth of the Aleke takes place 500 years after The Lies of the Ajungo when history has replaced truth. Moses Ose Utomi’s follow-up novella is about the lengths people will go to hold onto power and the importance of the truth in doing what’s right.

You can check out these new book releases at Bookshop.org or your local bookstore. What March 5 new release are you most excited to read? Let us know below, and tune in next week to grow your TBR.

Book Review: A FELLOWSHIP OF BAKERS AND MAGIC