There are a lot of new books coming out every week. With New Release Radar, I’ll help you narrow down the week’s new book releases into the titles you should get excited about. This week, I have eight books to share, including a few summer horror novels and a fun space opera adventure. Read on!

The Rom-Commers by Katherine Center 

Emma Wheeler dreams of being a screenwriter and finally gets her big break: a chance to rewrite a script for her idol, Charlie Yates. Leaving her kind-hearted dad in her sister’s care, Emma heads to L.A. for six weeks. Once there, however, Charlie is dismissive, calling her a “failed, nobody screenwriter,” and his romantic comedy script is terrible. Determined to prove the value of love stories, Emma stands her ground. Emma must convince Charlie that love stories matter, but her heart might just end up on the line.

Katherine Center writes believable and imperfect characters, and her new book release is no exception. The Rom-Commers is a quick, sweet read for anyone searching for their next favorite love story.

RELATED: New Release Radar: New Books Coming Out On June 4

Cuckoo by Gretchen Felker-Martin

The cover of Cuckoo has small broken eggs in a nest below a larger, unbroken egg. A tagline reads "One of these things is not like the others."

In the late ’90s, five queer kids are sent to a “tough love” camp in the scorching Utah desert aimed at “fixing” them. Tormented and worked to the point of collapse by hardline religious zealots, they start to realize that something in the mountains north of the camp is speaking to them in their dreams. As those who remain grow closer, they realize that the children who return home to their families are not the same as they once were.

Like Manhunt, Cuckoo is an intense, angry book full of damaged protagonists. At the same time, Gretchen Felker-Martin’s follow-up is tender and funny, a perfect summer horror novel.

Not in Love by Ali Hazelwood

Rue Siebert, a biotech engineer at a promising start-up, finds her stable life threatened by a hostile takeover led by the irresistibly attractive Eli Killgore. Eli is determined to secure the deal for personal reasons but can’t stop thinking about Rue. Torn between romance and loyalty, they embark on a secret, no-strings-attached affair with an inevitable deadline: the takeover’s conclusion. As their connection deepens, they must come to terms with the riskiest business of all.

What’s a summer without a new STEM romance by Ali Hazelwood? Full of angst and forbidden love, Not in Love is dramatic and steamy.

RELATED: Geek Girl Authority Crush of the Week: Alex Stern

Tehrangeles by Porochista Khakpour

Ali and Homa Milani, Iranian-American multimillionaires, live a lavish life in their Los Angeles McMansion with their four vibrant daughters. As they prepare to launch their reality TV show, the Milanis must confront their deepest secrets and hidden dramas. From aspiring model Violet to chaotic influencer Roxanna, chronically online overachiever Mina, and impressionable health fanatic Haylee, each family member—and even their Persian cat, Pari—has something to hide.

Tehrangeles is a dramatic but heartfelt saga of family dysfunction and the quest for self-acceptance amidst the looming scrutiny of fame. Porochista Khakpour’s new book release is great for fans of The Kardashians and Crazy Rich Asians.

The Stardust Grail by Yume Kitasei

The cover of The Stardust Grail has red clouds against a blue-black sky full of stars. In the center are three large gray tentacles.

Once the galaxy’s best art thief, Maya Hoshimoto is now a graduate student trying to ignore disturbing visions of the future. When an old friend offers her an irresistible job to find a powerful object that could save an alien species from extinction, Maya sets out on a dangerous quest. As she navigates a universe of strange life and ancient ruins, her haunting visions threaten her team, and she faces the chilling possibility that saving one species might doom humanity and Earth itself.

With a tense, high-stakes plot and a heist set in space, The Stardust Grail is a fantastic, fun adventure. Yume Kitasei’s second novel finds optimism in bleak situations, resulting in a great space opera.

RELATED: Brandon Chen Chats Webtoon Series Just a Goblin, His Creative Process and Future Projects

Everyone I Kissed Since You Got Famous by Mae Marvel

Everyone knows Katie Price from their TV screens, but she rarely returns home. When she heads back to Wisconsin after 10 years away, she meets right back up with her old crush, Wil Green. A lot has changed since their high school days. Wil’s law career has stalled, and she spends her time making viral kissing challenge videos. Despite the decade apart, their reconnection is instant and passionate. But will their rekindled romance stand up to all the time that has passed?

If you enjoy a second chance love story, check out Everyone I Kissed Since You Got Famous. Mae Marvel’s sapphic celebrity romance is great for fans of Casey McQuiston and Alexandria Bellefleur.

Horror Movie by Paul Tremblay

In 1993, guerrilla filmmakers created Horror Movie, a disturbing art-house flick with only three scenes released. After gaining a cult following over 30 years, Hollywood is planning a big-budget reboot. The sole surviving cast member, who played “The Thin Kid,” remembers the dark secrets and tragic events of the original shoot all too well. As he assists with the remake, reality and memories blur, forcing him to confront the past amidst cynical producers and surreal fan conventions—no matter the cost.

From the author of The Cabin at the End of the World comes a chilling twist on the “cursed film” genre. Paul Tremblay’s Horror Movie is a suspenseful, terrifying and unforgettable new book release.

RELATED: Book Review: The Z Word

One of Our Kind by Nicola Yoon

The cover of One of Our Kind has the title and author in large, capital white font. An eye looks out among pastel, abstracts shapes.

Jasmyn and King Williams move their family to the Black utopia of Liberty, California, hoping for a community of like-minded people in which they can thrive. While King embraces their new home, Jasmyn struggles to find her place among residents more focused on luxury than social justice. As she uncovers Liberty’s dark secrets, Jasmyn’s world is threatened in ways she could have never imagined.

Nicola Yoon’s first adult novel combines elements of Jordan Peele’s Get Out with The Stepford Wives. One of Our Kind is a haunting, speculative domestic thriller for fans of eerie takes on real-world politics and views.

You can check out these new book releases at Bookshop.org or your local bookstore. What June 11 new release are you most excited to read? Let us know below, and tune in next week to grow your TBR.

Get Ready for the Reaping: A New HUNGER GAMES Novel Coming