There are a lot of new books coming out every week. With New Release Radar, I’ll help you narrow down the week’s new book releases into the titles you should get excited about. I have eight books to share this week, including a cozy new fantasy and a heart-pounding work of horror. Read on.

Some Great Hemisphere by Mateo Askaripour

Sweetmint, an invisible woman, has received a coveted apprenticeship with a top inventor from the Dominant Population. Her life unravels when authorities reveal her long-lost brother is alive and the prime suspect in the murder of the Chief Executive of the Northwestern Hemisphere. With just five days until the hemisphere’s election, Sweetmint embarks on a mission to find her brother, evading a relentless law officer and an ambitious politician determined to seize power.

Combining science fiction with political intrigue, Some Great Hemisphere is perfect for fans of Naomi Alderman and N.K. Jemisin. Mateo Askaripour’s new book release is a page-turning look at an all-too-possible future.

RELATED: New Release Radar: New Books Coming Out on July 2

The Spellshop by Sarah Beth Durst

Kiela loves her job as a librarian at the Great Library of Alyssium. But when a revolution destroys the library, she and her magical assistant, Caz, must flee. They take refuge on Kiela’s childhood island home, where she starts a secret spellshop with illegal magic to make ends meet. As she navigates her new life — and a charming new neighbor — Kiela must balance the risks of her magical activities with the need for income and the unexpected possibility of love.

The Spellshop is a magical Hallmark rom-com of a book. With just the right amount of coziness and small-town vibes mixed with fantasy elements, Sarah Beth Durst’s cute slow-burn romance is a great summer read.

Toward Eternity by Anton Hur

The cover of Toward Eternity has pink and blue plants growing around the edges, with a gray moon or planet in the center.

In a near-future world, cancer is eradicated through nanite cell replacement, resulting in near immortality. One recipient of this treatment is a literary researcher, Yonghun, who creates an AI named Panit, capable of understanding poetry. When Dr. Beeko, the patent holder of the nano-therapy, transfers Panit’s consciousness into an android body, Panit gains freedom and life. As Yonghun, Panit, and other nano humans begin to replicate, their development leads to an existential crossroads with profound consequences.

While Toward Eternity is Anton Hur’s debut novel, he’s no stranger to fiction. He’s the translator of some of the most celebrated contemporary Korean literature. Hur’s first original work combines gods, magic and science into a world rapidly approaching collapse, and I can’t wait to see what else he comes up with.

RELATED: 8 Asian American Writers That Should Be on Your Reading List

The Dallergut Dream Department Store by Miye Lee, translated by Sandy Joosun Lee

In the mysterious Dallergut Dream Department Store, hidden in our collective subconscious, visitors buy dreams of all kinds. Each floor offers different dreams, from nostalgic memories to thrilling adventures and nightmares. New hire Penny navigates this whimsical world alongside the flamboyant owner Dallergut, special dream producer Agnap Coco, and mystery department employee Vigo Myers. When a valuable dream is stolen during Penny’s first week, she sets out to track it down and uncover the store’s secrets.

Already a Korean bestseller, The Dallergut Dream Department Store is the first in an excitingly whimsical duology. Anyone who enjoys quirky works of magical realism like Before the Coffee Gets Cold should check out Miye Lee’s debut.

The Darkness Within Us by Tricia Levenseller

Chrysantha Stathos has carefully built a life of wealth and power by hiding her intelligence behind a facade of beauty. Now, at nineteen, she’s on the brink of true freedom and fortune with her elderly husband’s imminent death. But her plans are disrupted when her sister Alessandra marries the powerful Shadow King, and a mysterious, handsome man claims her late husband’s estate. Determined to reclaim what she believes is hers, Chrysantha vows to eliminate Eryx Demos, the enigmatic new heir.

Tricia Levenseller’s new book release is a companion novel to 2020’s The Shadows Between Us. Following Alessandra’s sister Chrysantha, The Darkness Within Us expands on an already fascinating world.

RELATED: Book Review: The Daughters’ War

The Sky on Fire by Jenn Lyons

The cover of The Sky on Fire has a black dragon flying out from between two black mountains with sharp black towers.

Anahrod, a solitary survivor in the jungles of the Deep, narrowly escapes capture thanks to the help of an adventuring party. Their rescue, however, pulls her into a perilous mission. They need her help to steal from a dragon’s hoard belonging to the regent, Neveranimas, who wants Anahrod dead.

Described as a modern Dragonriders of Pern, The Sky on Fire is a high-stakes standalone fantasy novel. Jenn Lyons created an exciting new story of misfits, dragon overlords and a heist for the ages.

All This and More by Peng Shepherd

Marsh, a 45-year-old whose life is in shambles, is desperate for a do-over. She gets a chance to change her past thanks to the global sensation All This and More, a show that uses quantum technology. Determined to seize her dreams, she rises to fame, rekindles old romance, and travels the world. However, as she enjoys her new life, Marsh begins to suspect that the show’s promises might be too good to be true.

All This and More is an adult take on a “choose your own adventure” book. Peng Shepherd’s new book release is an exciting, mind-bending tale perfect for fans of Matt Haig’s The Midnight Library and Kate Atkinson’s Life After Life.

RELATED: Book Review: The Cautious Traveller’s Guide to the Wastelands

Bury Your Gays by Chuck Tingle

Misha, on the brink of Hollywood success after an Oscar nomination, faces a career-defining choice when studio executives demand he kill off a gay character “for the algorithm.” His refusal puts a target on his back. Even worse, real monsters from his horror movie past begin stalking him and his friends. Haunted by his past and risking his future, Misha must confront these terrors before they destroy him.

Chuck Tingle is back with another heart-pounding horror novel. Bury Your Gays is a story about what it takes to succeed in a world that wants you dead and the importance of art and creation for humanity.

You can check out these new book releases at Bookshop.org or your local bookstore. What July 9 new release are you most excited to read? Let us know below, and tune in next week to grow your TBR.

Book Review: UNBECOMING