NASACover

Mark your calendars! National Engineers Week is February 19th-25th and NASA’s Digital Learning Network (DLN) will be celebrating female Engineers with an Introduce a Girl to Engineering live event hosted by the Kennedy Space Center.

The event will be on Thursday February 23rd starting at 6 am PST/9am EST. Every hour there will be a 30-minute event focused on women in engineering at NASA.Viewers can submit questions via Twitter using the hashtag #askDLN or they can send an email to DLiNfochannel@gmail.com.  Three schools will also be chosen to participate in the LIVE Q&A panels with any of the speakers.

Scheduled Events: 

  • 6am PST/9am EST – Kick-off with Nancy Bray, Director of Spaceport Integration and Services, Kennedy Space Center
  • 7am PST/ 10am EST Ashlie Fiegel, Aerospace Research Engineer, Glenn Research Center
  • 8am PST/11am ESTCharlie Blackwell-Tompson, GSDO Launch Director, Kennedy Space Center
  • 9am PST/12pm EST – (in Spanish) Jessica Parsons, Integration Engineer, Kennedy Space Center 
  • 10am PST/1pm EST – Shideh Naderi, Electrical Engineer, Armstrong Flight Research Center
  • 11am PST/2pm EST – Jill Marlowe, Director of Research, Langley Research Center
  • 12pm PST/3pm EST – Ali Luna, Electrostatic Discharge (ESD) Program Director, Ames Research Center
  • 1pm PST/4pm EST – Cinda Chullen, Advanced Spacesuit Project Manager, Johnson Space Center

You can register to watch here or you can watch it on DLiNfo Channel.

As someone who was once interested in studying Aerospace Engineering, I am very excited for this event and I hope it continues for many years to come. Fingers crossed that there will be more events like this one for other STEM fields.

NASAInfoFlyer

Renee Lopez
Follow Me