HBO Max’s Dune: The Sisterhood (current title) begins filming next month. October has brought a flurry of casting announcements for the prequel series. Earlier this month, Geek Girl Authority reported that Emily Watson and Shirley Henderson had been cast as leads in the series. Last week, Obi-Wan’s Indira Varma joined the cast. 

This week brought five more casting announcements. Joining the Dune prequel series are Sarah-Sofie Boussnina, Shalom Brune-Franklin, Faoileann Cunningham, Aoife Hinds and Chloe Lea

Dune: The Sisterhood is based on Brian Herbert and Kevin J. Anderson’s novel, Sisterhood of Dune. The series is set 10,000 years before the events of Frank Herbert’s Dune. The series will follow the Harkonnen Sisters as they combat forces that threaten the future of humankind, and establish the fabled sect known as the Bene Gesserit.

Yes, those Harkonnens. Watson and Henderson will play sisters Balya and Tula Harkonnen, respectively. The sisters have risen to power within a secret organization called the Sisterhood which will eventually become the Bene Gesserit. 

RELATED: Dune – What We Know About the Sequel

Indira Varma will play Empress Natalya, a formidable royal who united thousands of worlds in her marriage to Emperor Corrino. Dune fans will be familiar with the name Corrino as they have been the ruling family in the Dune universe for many millennia. 

According to Variety, here are the characters that the other announced castmembers are playing:

Boussnina will play Princess Ynez, “an independent young princess dealing with the pressures of her responsibility as heir to the Golden Lion Throne.”

Brune-Franlion will play Mikaela, “a strong-willed Fremen woman who serves the royal family while longing for a home planet she’s never known.”

Cunningham will play Sister Jen, “a fierce, unpredictable acolyte in training at the Sisterhood School who rarely reveals her emotional core.” 

Hinds will play Sister Emeline “a zealous acolyte descended from a long line of martyrs, who carries fervent religion to her training at the sisterhood.”

Lea will play Lila, “the youngest acolyte at the Sisterhood School with a deep empathy beyond her years.”

RELATED: Dune: Part 2: Christopher Walken to Play Padishah Emperor Shaddam IV

Variety also reported that Diane Ademu-John serves as creator, writer, co-showrunner and executive producer for Dune: The Sisterhood. Alison Schapker serves as co-showrunner and executive producer. Johan Renck will direct the premiere episode and executive produce.  Denis Villeneuve, Jon Spaihts, Scott Z. Burns, Matthew King, John Cameron and Cait Collins are executive producing, along with Herbert. Byron Merritt and Kim Herbert serve as executive producers for the Frank Herbert estate. Anderson serves as co-producer.

With filming for Dune: The Sisterhood beginning next month and Dune Part 2 currently in production, it’s a great time to be a Dune fan. 

Florence Pugh and Austin Butler in Talks to Join DUNE Sequel

Audrey Kearns