DC’s Legends of Tomorrow power couple Brandon Routh and wife Courtney Ford will be leaving the show in season five. According to Deadline,  it was a creative decision to ‘wrap up their storyline.’ Producers are leaving the door open for both characters to return for guest appearances. 

In a statement to Deadline, executive producers Phil Klemmer, Grianne Godfree and Keto Shimizu said, “Brandon and Courtney have been invaluable members of the Legends family. They have always brought a level passion and collaboration to their characters and to the show — both on and off the screen – that we deeply admire and for which we are eternally grateful. “As one of the founding Legends of Tomorrow, Brandon is extremely beloved by the fans and everyone on the show.”

Routh has been a part of the show since it’s debut in 2016.  He first appeared as Ray Palmer/Atom on the CW series Arrow and was then recruited to time travel with the Legends.  Of the original five stars, only two will remain after Routh’s exit.  Caity Lotz as Sara Lance/White Canary and Dominic Purcell as Mick Rory/Heatwave. 

Ford joined the series in season three in villainous guest role as Nora Darhk. Her character changed her tune and was promoted to series regular this past season.  Ford and Routh are expected to complete filming of their roles in October. The series actually returns in the spring.  Routh will be playing Ray Palmer and Superman in the upcoming Arrowverse crossover, Crisis on Infinite Earths

Well this is sad.  I have enjoyed Ray’s quirky, nerdy, goofy antics since he first appeared on Arrow. It’s a shame the creative team doesn’t feel he has more to offer after this season.  Sara may be the leader, but Ray was the heart of the Legends.  I hate to see him go.  So long Ray Palmer! Please come back soon.

Crisis on Infinite Earths premieres on Sunday, December 8 and runs through Tuesday, December 10. Then resumes and concludes on Tuesday,  January 14. 

DC’s Legends of Tomorrow returns in January 2020.





Noetta Harjo
Follow me
Latest posts by Noetta Harjo (see all)