The great thing about Barbie is that it presents different kinds of individuals who follow different career paths, have other passions, and like different things. Therefore, the movie has a bit of everything for every person in the audience. This allows people to connect the movie or their favorite character to other relevant media, whether it is another movie, a TV series, or a book.

Literature has often been connected to movies because many books have been translated to the big screen. However, there are other times when fans can connect a book to a film because it reminds them of said movie or a particular character. If you loved the Barbie movie as a whole or you love one specific character, here are a few books that may remind you of your favorite things in the film.

RELATED: 6 Romantic Queer Books About Food

The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison

 

Toni Morrison’s The Bluest Eye tells the story of a young black girl who prays for beauty. Every day she is faced with the mocking of other children because of her skin, her hair, and her brown eyes. She wants to stop these comments about her appearance and wishes she was blonde with blue eyes instead.

The book discusses the idea that changing who you are might help you fit in when, in reality, that has never been the problem. However, as she continues to pray for changes in how she looks, her life is confronted by adversity that she must face.

RELATED: 6 Video Game Books to Check Out for National Video Game Day

A Touch of Jen by Beth Morgan

In A Touch of Jen, Beth Morgan tells the story of Remy and Alicia. These two characters are service workers and a couple who are unhappy together. However, they seem connected by one obsession: Jen, a former co-worker who travels the world as a jewelry designer. No matter what the couple does, everything revolves around Jen, how she is living her life, and how she presents herself to the world through social media.

The story has a turn when Jen invites Remy and Alicia to the Hamptons. As they try to fit into her reality, they come face-to-face with an alternate reality that presents several borderline-toxic fantasies.

RELATED: 7 Swoon-Worthy Books With Nonbinary Love Interests

City of Likes by Jenny Mollen

City of Likes book cover with a pink background and a white bathtub in the middle.

City of Likes follows the story of Megan Chernoff. She is an unemployed copywriter in the middle of an identity crisis after giving birth to her second child. In order to make a change and disrupt the routine, she and her family decide to move to New York City. It is there where things get exciting when she meets Daphne Cole, a momfluencer.

From her identity crisis, Megan is immediately thrown into Daphne’s life, joining her mom’s clubs, participating in wellness rituals, and seeking the approval of her followers. However, as amazing as it all sounds, Megan realizes that she has lost track of her real life and that her relationship with her family is in shambles.

RELATED: 6 Great Books to Help Satisfy Your Yellowjackets Cravings

Fool Me Once by Ashley Winstead

Ashley Winstead’s Fool Me Once is the story of the complexity of being a woman. On the one hand, Lee Stone is excellent at her job as a communications director at a women-run company. On the other hand, she goes home to smoke weed and outdrink every guy she meets. The truth is that underneath this duality, Lee hides from love because she no longer trusts it.

In her last relationship, Lee believed her boyfriend was cheating, so she reciprocated. However, he wasn’t, and things get complicated when the two of them have to team up and work together. The competitive nature of both characters and their past together makes the story so interesting.

RELATED: 6 Great Books Ted Lasso Fans Have to Read

Funny You Should Ask by Elissa Sussman

Funny You Should Ask takes place at two different times. In the first part of the story, Chani Horowitz is a writer hired to write a profile on her celebrity crush: Gabe Parker. She believes she can keep her admiration at bay and write the perfect profile to help him get good press and grow her career. However, things take a turn, and this becomes a life-changing experience that Chani couldn’t have dreamed of.

RELATED: 4 Great Literary Coming Out Stories

In the second part of this book, Chani is in LA, focusing on her career, recovering from a divorce, and going to therapy. What she experienced with Gabe is still on her mind, but she believes their paths won’t cross again. Things change when his PR team reaches out to set up a second interview.

Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus

Lessons in Chemistry takes readers back in time to the 1960s and tells the story of Elizabeth Zott. This woman is a chemist and works for an all-male team at Hastings Research Institute. Although it may seem as if her team pays her no mind or doesn’t take her seriously, things change when a Noble-prize-nominated chemist falls in love with her.

Years later, Elizabeth is a single mother who has changed career paths and has become the star of a cooking show. Under these new circumstances, she pairs up her knowledge of chemistry and cooking to revolutionize women and challenge what has always been expected of them.

RELATED: 6 Book Recommendations If You Loved Our Flag Means Death

Rogue Justice by Stacey Abrams

In Rogue Justice, Avery Keene is approached by a fellow law clerk who was being blackmailed before the judge he worked with took her own life. He gives Avery files and a burner phone, explaining that dangerous people are keeping watch. Not too long after that, she watches the law clerk being murdered.

Avery takes matters into her own hands by decrypting the messages left in the files and stumbles upon a long list of significant names involved in what the law clerk was trying to warn her about. She realizes the justice system is involved and has to face the reality that there might be a conspiracy going on.

RELATED: Sapphics with Swords: 6 Books Featuring Queer Lady Warriors

Does My Body Offend You? by Mayra Cuevas and Marie Marquardt

Does My Body Offend You? combines two authors, Mayra Cuevas and Marie Marquardt, who come together to tell the story of two teenagers who begin discovering the true meaning of friendship and feminism. The two teenagers come together when the school forces one of them to cover up, and they believe this is unfair.

Although neither of them planned to lead a rebellion against the school’s dress code, they believed it was the best they could do for themselves and other girls. To lead this rebellion, they must face their insecurities, privileges, and the strength of their friendship.

RELATED: 8 Books A League of Their Own Fans Have to Read

Places We’ve Never Been by Kasie West

Places We’ve Never Been tells the story of two childhood best friends who lost touch when one of them moved away. It seems like these days, all they do is like each other’s posts on social media. However, things will change when the two of them join their families for their RV road trip in the summer.

When the two finally reunite during the road trip, it seems Skyler doesn’t want to be there and would rather avoid Nora. This makes the girl feel sad and lost, believing her oldest friendship is done. Their summer journey turns into an adventure that will test their bond.

RELATED: 10 Great Books With Jewish Representation for Kids and Young Adults

The Night in Question by Kathleen Glasgow and Liz Lawson

Just like Agatha Christie, Alice Ogilvie and Iris Adams are known for solving mysteries in The Night in Question. The two of them have become famous in Castle Cove for bringing resolutions to cases that few others can solve. This time around, their school dance is interrupted by an assault, and the two of them must figure out what is going on.

As the case goes on, the girls discover that to solve what is going on in the present, they must take a look at the past. Therefore, they must revisit their old cases to find the answer.

10 Books With Queer Protagonists to Read All Year Round