If Penny Brighton didn’t have bad luck she’d have no luck at all. After getting kicked out of her apartment and losing her job- on the same day!- she is forced to move into a storage unit, work for a diabolical 12 year old in a laundromat and occasionally sneak into the gym to take a shower. But it’s not all bad. There’s this super sweet guy she meets at the community center and they even manage to have a conversation without her being a complete wreck! Surely Penny can turn these hardships around in order to become a fully functioning, responsible adult. Can’t she? Probably not. 

Lucky Penny is the slice of life graphic novel by Ananth Hirsh and Yuko Ota that delivers a relatable punch in the gut in its first five pages. Like most young adults, Penny is a quirky ne’er-do-well stumbling through life with no direction, goals, and just can’t seem to catch a break. But despite losing her crappy job and moving into her friend’s storage unit she still manages to stay optimistic. She even manages to get a date with the timid but sweet Walter. Clearly, her priorities are a bit disorganized and that’s why we love her. Overall, this was a funny, fluffy book with a light Scott Pilgrim vibe; complete with the mushy romance and a dream-sequence-style scene. And that diabolical 12 year old I mention earlier? I would pay big money to see him get his own spin-off book because he is awful and by the end of the book you’ll understand why he’s my favorite character.

Fans of Scott Pilgrim and Giant Days will appreciate this delightfully light read that is guaranteed to put a smile on your face. The perfect way to spend an afternoon in your favorite storage unit. 

RELATED: Book Review: SECONDS 

RELATED: Top 5 Independent Comics Publishers

 

Fallon Marie Gannon

A bona fide earthling who finds some comfort in books, movies and coffee. Lots of coffee. Has several regrettable tattoos and her knowledge of horror movies is probably better than yours but she won't hold it against you; it's proof that she has way too much free time. Currently in limbo but manages to occasionally crawl out of it long enough to write for Geek Girl Authority.
Fallon Marie Gannon

Latest posts by Fallon Marie Gannon (see all)