Yesterday we posted that actor Daryl McCormack had been cast in an undisclosed role on The Wheel of Time  for season one. What we didn’t see was a social media post from the showrunner for the epic fantasy series, Rafe Judkins 

The Twitter post show a writers room and a single, tiny whiteboard in the room. Judkins writes, “Starting the S2 writers’ room on Wheel of Time and the Czech builders didn’t fully grasp how many whiteboards are needed to break an entire season of television. Ha.”

Now, if you’ve never been in a television series’ writing room, then you need to know that Judkins is absolutely correct. All the writers’ rooms that I’ve been in, the table in the middle of the room is surrounded by whiteboards on every wall! The writers use the whiteboards to ‘break’ the season/story and then also continue to break each episode.

But Light! Let’s put that aside because what this really means is that The Wheel of Time is already working on a second season! They are going to start working on a second season before season one has even finished production and we couldn’t be more excited! Amazon has yet to confirm the news of a second season.

RELATED: The Wheel of Time Casts Michael McElhatton as Tam Al’Thor  

RELATED: WHEEL OF TIME Casts Peaky Blinders’ Daryl McCormack

The Wheel of Time is based on Robert Jordan’s fantasy series spanning 14 books. The final three books in the series were written by fantasy author Brandon Sanderson after Jordan’s passing. It is set in a sprawling, epic world where magic exists, but only women can use it. Meaning that in this series — women hold the keys to power. The story follows Moiraine, a member of the shadowy and influential all-female organization called the ‘Aes Sedai’ as she embarks on a dangerous, world-spanning journey with five young men and women. Moiraine is interested in these five because she believes one of them might be the reincarnation of an incredibly powerful individual, whom prophecies say will either save humanity or destroy it.

Cast as main characters in The Wheel of Time series are Barney Harris (Mat Cauthon), Madeleine Madden (Egwene Al’Vere), Zoe Robin (Nyneave) Marcus Rutherford (Perrin Aybarra), Rosamund Pike (Moirane), Josha Stradowski (Rand) and Daniel Henney (Lan). Also, Michael McElhatton will be playing Tam Al’Thor and as mentioned above McCormack is in an as yet undisclosed role. 

The WHEEL OF TIME Series Releases Footage from the First Table Read

RELATED: WHEEL OF TIME Showrunner Rafe Judkins Makes Touching Tribute to Robert Jordan as Filming Begins

Executive producer/showrunner Rafe Judkins adapted the novels for television Executive producers also include Larry Mondragon and Rick Selvage of Red Eagle Entertainment, Ted Field and Mike Weber of Radar Pictures, Darren LemkeMarigo Kehoe and Uta Briesewitz.  Jordan’s widow Harriet McDougal and Sanderson will serve as consulting producers.



Audrey Kearns